Date September 2, 2020


Subject: Bay Area Designers Craft an Auction for Justice called Craft Gives Back


Event Dates: Warm Up September 11 - 17th, 2020. 

Auction Dates: September 18 and closes September 20, 2020, midnight PDT.


Craft Gives Back, an Auction for Justice

Jewelry designer Marja of MGG Studio and clothing designer Jenny Fong of Modern Shibori have joined forces to raise money for Oakland-based Planting Justice (plantingjustice.org). With all of the challenges that 2020 has wrought upon small businesses and local economies, these two artists felt the need to expand their local networks and collectively raise awareness and support communities in need. That’s how Craft Gives Back, an Auction for Justice came to be. 


This multi-designer auction has two important objectives. First, the auction seeks to amplify Bay Area BIPOC designers and artists whose businesses focus on sustainability and environmental justice. Second, 100% of funds raised will be invested directly into the local community, to support an organization with substantive environmental and social justice impact. With this second objective in mind, Marja and Jenny selected Planting Justice, a West Oakland-based permaculture garden, as the beneficiary of the auction. 


Since 2009, Planting Justice has built over 450 edible permaculture gardens in the San Francisco Bay Area, worked with five high schools to develop a food justice curriculum and created 40 green jobs in the food justice movement for folks transitioning from incarceration. Marja and Jenny wanted Craft Gives Back to directly aid local food security issues as the need is immediate during COVID-19. 


The auction will run on the Craft Gives Back Instagram feed (https://www.instagram.com/craftgivesback/). Participating businesses will be featured during the warm up dates from September 11 - 17th on the @craftgivesback feed and stories. The auction opens for bidding on September 18th at 8 am. Bidders place their bids by commenting their bid amount at or above the opening bid in $5 increments. The auction closes September 20th at midnight PST. Winners will be notified and will donate their winning bid amount directly to Planting Justice. Winners claim their prize by sending a photo of their receipts to @craftgivesback via Direct Message or via email at craftgivesback.bayarea@gmail.com


The auction will feature handmade jewelry, clothing, home decor, artful greeting cards, bags and bath/body products made by Bay Area artists. Many participating brands focus on sustainability by incorporating recycled, upcycled, or organic materials in their products.


We are excited to present to you these local Bay Area designers and artists who are participating in the The Craft Gives Back Auction for Justice. Additional artists will be announced on the @craftgivesback Instagram feed. 


Shujan of Aplat https://aplat.com/

Geanna of GDS Cloth Goods https://www.gdsclothgoods.com/

Stevonne of Beija Flor Naturals https://www.beijaflornaturals.com/

Melanie of Melanie Abrantes Designs http://www.melanieabrantes.com/

Taylor Jay of Taylor Jay Collection https://www.taylorjaycollection.com/

Dominique of Oaksmith Furniture https://www.oaksmithfurniture.com/

Lindsay of Ladha Jewelry https://www.ladhajewelry.com/

Kristina of Lacson Ravello http://www.lacsonravello.com/

Vanessa and Joshua of https://thecraftedprints.com/

Marja of MGG Studio https://mggstudio.com/

Jenny of Modern Shibori https://modernshibori.com/